Matt Kemp Finishes Second In 2011 NL MVP Award Voting

Matt Kemp finished second to Ryan Braun in the 2011 NL MVP Award voting that was revealed by the BBWAA today.

Obviously, I disagree, and I stated my reasoning back in September, but the way the voting played out basically showed why he lost.

As you can see, Roy Halladay finished in ninth with Clayton Kershaw in twelfth, this despite Kershaw actually winning the 2011 NL Cy Young Award.

So the logic of most voters was that since Matt Kemp’s teammates sucked, he didn’t deserve the 2011 NL MVP Award.

Sweet, right?


Anyway, with Matt Kemp signing his 8 year/160 million dollar extension last week, the 2011 NL MVP Award second place finisher will be in a Dodgers uniform for a while, hopefully giving him ample opportunity to add to his trophy case.

About Chad Moriyama